NIST 800-171

NIST 800-171 Compliance Services

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Special Publication 800-171 (NIST SP 800-171) is a set of security requirements designed to help non-federal organizations protect the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) in their custody. NIST 800-171 compliance is required for any organization that handles CUI on behalf of the federal government, including contractors, subcontractors, and vendors. CyberCrest’s services can help your organization implement, demonstrate, and maintain NIST 800-171 compliance.

Starting your NIST 800-171 Journey? Download our Top 5 Tips for Achieving NIST 800-171 Compliance!

End-to-End NIST 800-171 Compliance Service

NIST 800-171 Compliance Methodology

Gap Assessment

CyberCrest will conduct a gap assessment and develop a path towards complete compliance

Remediation Support

CyberCrest will assist in developing documentation and support control implementation to achieve improved compliance

Compliance Audit

CyberCrest will conduct a formal audit to evaluate improved levels of framework compliance

Attestation Issuance

CyberCrest will issue a detailed compliance attestation report

CyberCrest Resources

NIST 800-171 Compliance Resources

Related Services

Additional CyberCrest NIST 800-171 Services

Risk Assessment

CyberCrest can assist your organization with all of its NIST risk assessment needs.

Penetration Testing

Our Penetration Testing services will help your organization mitigate risk.

Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery

BCP/DR services can help your organization mitigate risk.

Frequently Asked Questions

NIST Special Publication (SP) 800-171 provides guidance for protecting Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) in nonfederal information systems and organizations. Compliance with NIST 800-171 is required for organizations that handle CUI for the Department of Defense (DoD) and must be demonstrated through compliance with Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement (DFARS) clause 252.204-7012.

The requirements for NIST 800-171 compliance include implementing a set of 110 security controls across 14 categories, which are based on the NIST 800-53 framework. These controls cover various areas such as access control, incident response, physical and environmental protection, and system and information integrity.

Some of the specific requirements for NIST 800-171 compliance include:

Developing and implementing a System Security Plan (SSP) that documents how the security controls are implemented, managed, and assessed
Conducting a risk assessment to identify and prioritize risks to CUI and implementing controls to mitigate those risks
Providing security awareness training to personnel who have access to CUI
Implementing access controls to ensure that only authorized personnel have access to CUI
Implementing incident response procedures to detect, report, and respond to security incidents
Encrypting CUI when it is stored or transmitted, as required by the CUI Registry
At CyberCrest, we specialize in helping organizations achieve NIST 800-171 compliance. Our team of experts can assist you with identifying the CUI in your environment, developing and implementing the necessary security controls, and creating the required documentation. We offer a range of services to help organizations of all sizes and types achieve NIST 800-171 compliance, reduce their risk of data breaches, and protect their sensitive information. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help your organization achieve NIST 800-171 compliance.

NIST 800-171, CMMC, and DFARS 7012 are all frameworks that have been developed to ensure that government contractors and subcontractors adequately protect Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI). While they share some similarities, there are also some key differences between them.

NIST 800-171 is a set of 110 security controls developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) to protect CUI in non-federal systems and organizations. DFARS 7012 is a clause that requires contractors to implement NIST 800-171 controls if they handle CUI for the Department of Defense (DoD).

CMMC, on the other hand, is a certification program that measures a contractor’s ability to implement cybersecurity controls, with five levels of maturity. CMMC builds upon NIST 800-171, but also includes additional practices and processes to further safeguard CUI.

While NIST 800-171, CMMC, and DFARS 7012 have their own distinct requirements, they all aim to protect sensitive government information from cyber threats. If your organization needs to comply with any of these frameworks, CyberCrest can help. Our team of experts has extensive experience in cybersecurity and compliance, and we can assist with gap assessments, remediation, policy development, training, and more. Contact us today to learn how we can help your organization achieve compliance with NIST 800-171, CMMC, DFARS 7012, or any other cybersecurity framework.